“If We Win our Games, We’ll be All Right” A Poem about Derek Jeter

So, I wrote this poem for Derek Jeter about a month before he retired.  The title comes from a small quote he made in a New York Times article about a month before his retirement.  I figured I’d print it here, where no one will see it, instead of just having it lay around on my computer, where also no one will see it.  Side Note: I was fortunate enough to attend his final home game, and consider my top sports experience of my young life.

“If We Win our Games, We’ll be All Right”

Dark blue and Summer night’
World Series and Game seven frights
The man in Pin from Kalamazoo
Has a work method tried and true
Glides through the field like a gallivant gazelle
Pandemonium in the stands, raising Hell
Always shown with a smile so bright
If we Win our Games, We’ll be All Right
Leave a Reply

